Better rates for better drivers. Now in West Virginia.

See how much you’ll save.

Get a quote

Fair car insurance has arrived in the Mountain State.


From Huntington to Charleston and all the way to Morgantown, good drivers in West Virginia can now get the cheap car insurance rates they deserve. In fact, good drivers can save up to 52%. Download our easy-to-use app and see if your good driving can save you money on quality coverage.

How it works

Auto insurance rates are traditionally based on your demographics—things like age, credit score, marital status, and ZIP code. But Root is a different kind of insurance company. We base rates primarily on how you drive, not on things like where you live or if you’re married. It’s the fair way to price car insurance.

  1. Download the app

    Sign up in less than a minute.

    App Store badgeGoogle Play Store badge
  2. Drive around

    We use your smartphone to measure your driving behavior. Better driving = more savings.

  3. Get your quote

    You can customize and purchase your policy, all in the Root app.

State Requirements

What are the minimum auto insurance requirements in West Virginia?


It’s required in West Virginia to carry Liability coverage, Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury coverage, and Uninsured Motorist Property Damage coverage if you’re going to operate a vehicle. You could face fines and penalties if you’re found driving without it.

You’re also required to show proof of insurance if you’re stopped by a police officer. Since West Virginia accepts electronic proof of insurance, you’ll always have your insurance card in the Root app. It’s legal proof of coverage that you can access conveniently from your phone.

Liability coverage

West Virginia law requires that you carry the state minimum amounts of Liability coverage. If you’re caught without it, you can be fined $200 to $5,000, have your license suspended for 30 days, and have your registration revoked for a first-time offense. For a second-time offense, the same penalties apply, plus the possibility of 15 days to 1 year in jail.

Liability coverage helps to pay for property damage or bodily injuries that occur from a car accident you cause. It does not cover harm to you or your family members (that’s what MedPay coverages are for). It also doesn’t cover your vehicle (but Collision and Comprehensive coverages do). These additional coverages can help you avoid major expenses in the event of a large accident.

Minimum required Liability coverage in WV:

  • $25,000 Bodily Injury (per person)

  • $50,000 Bodily Injury (per accident – multiple people injured)

  • $25,000 Property Damage

What is SR-22 insurance?

SR-22 insurance is a liability document for high-risk insurance policies. SR-22 insurance is not required in West Virginia.

Root offers other coverages, too

  1. Collision

  2. Comprehensive (including glass coverage)

  3. Medical Payments

  4. Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury (UM/UIM)

  1. Uninsured Motorist Property Damage (UMPD)

  2. Rental Car coverage

  3. Roadside Assistance (included in every Root policy)

Average Cost

What is the average cost of car insurance in West Virginia?


The average West Virginian pays $1,4721 per year for their auto policy, but many people pay much more. Bad drivers often drive up prices for good drivers. Root doesn’t insure bad drivers, so Root customers save up to 52% on average—all while enjoying fair and simple car insurance.

up to

52%

savings

for Root policyholders

Start saving

Get an auto insurance quote based primarily on how you drive. Save up to 52%.

Get a quote

References

  1. [1]Insure.com. Annual average rates were compiled in April 2019

Additional Sources

  1. DMV.com (Not a government agency)