South Carolina
South Carolina

Find out how much you can save on South Carolina car insurance.

Download the app. Take a test drive around the Palmetto State. Get a free quote.

Why choose Root for your South Carolina car insurance policy?

South Carolina, your great state is known for charming beaches and distinctive Lowcountry cuisine. Now it can be known for auto insurance that’s fair, simple, and affordable, too. With Root, if you’re a safe driver, you’ll pay up to 52% less for car insurance. So you can enjoy every one of those 187 miles of coastline just a little more.

What makes Root different from traditional insurers in South Carolina?

We base rates primarily on how you actually drive, not just on some statistical profile of your age, credit score, marital status, and ZIP code.

Here’s how it works:

  1. Download the free Root app and breeze through a simple signup.
  2. Drive normally for 2-3 weeks. During that test drive, your smartphone gathers driving data and sends it to us to crunch the numbers (it knows if you’re a driver or passenger—don’t worry). We run that data through our machine learning algorithm to determine your customized rate.
  3. Get your free quote and customize your policy, all within the app. And because we don’t insure high-risk drivers, good drivers save up to 52%.

Root is disrupting the broken insurance system by bringing fairness and ease to customers across the Palmetto State.

The worst 30% of drivers
cause nearly 45% of all accident costs1
Bad drivers cause nearly 45% of all accident costs

It’s a good time to be a good driver in South Carolina.

Since South Carolina is an electronic proof of insurance state, you’ll always have legal, hassle-free proof of coverage on hand through the Root app on your phone. Root’s competitive quotes and simple app prove that car insurance can be affordable and easy for the best drivers of the Palmetto State—from Greenville to Rock Hill, Columbia to Charleston, and all points between (we’re looking at you, Goose Creek).

What are the minimum car insurance requirements in South Carolina?

To legally operate a vehicle in South Carolina, you must carry liability insurance and uninsured motorist coverage. If you’re found driving without it, you could face a fine, license suspension, or imprisonment. Liability coverage helps to pay for property damage or bodily injuries that occur from a car accident you cause. It does not cover harm to you or your family members (that’s what Medical Payments or Personal Injury Protection coverages are for) or your vehicle (but Collision and Comprehensive coverages do). These additional coverages can help you avoid serious expenses in the event of a major accident.

Minimum required liability coverage in SC:

  • $25,000 Bodily Injury (per person)
  • $50,000 Bodily Injury (per accident – multiple people injured)

Uninsured Motorist Coverage (UM):

Uninsured motorist insurance pays for the damages, losses, and injuries you suffer if you’re in an accident caused by a driver who does not have car insurance. Keep in mind that a registered uninsured driver who causes an accident must pay for damage or medical costs out-of-pocket. This type of uninsured driver is not covered by uninsured motorist coverage.

Minimum required uninsured motorist coverage:

  • $25,000 Bodily Injury (per person)
  • $50,000 Bodily Injury (per accident – multiple people injured)

You can always opt for higher limits if you want more coverage.

When do you need to show proof of insurance?

You must show proof of insurance if you’re stopped by a police officer or involved in a car accident. Acceptable forms include:

  • An insurance ID card issued by your insurance carrier
  • Electronic version of your ID card, like the one found in the Root app on your phone

If you’re a registered uninsured motorist, you must show your copy of your approved application.

What other coverages does Root offer?

  • Collision
  • Comprehensive (including glass coverage)
  • Medical Payments
  • Personal Injury Protection
  • Rental
  • Roadside Assistance (included in every Root policy)
  • Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury (UIM)

Learn all about Root’s coverage options here:

Our Coverages

What are the fines and penalties if you’re caught without insurance?

If you don’t have proof of your South Carolina car insurance during a traffic stop, you could be given a ticket and face a fine or even imprisonment. Once the citation is issued, you must provide proof of insurance to the South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles (SCDMV) within 30 days, or your driver's license can be suspended. If you’re insured with Root, you can avoid that hassle. As long as you’ve got your phone, you have legal proof through the Root app.

What is an SR-22 form?

The SR-22 form, also referred to as SR22 insurance, is a form filed by your car insurance company that guarantees you will maintain coverage for a specific period of time. (Root does this for free.) In South Carolina, an SR-22 is required to have your license reinstated after any of these violations:

  • Any DUI offense
  • Driving with a suspended license
  • Driving a car without insurance or without registering as an uninsured driver
  • Failing to have a valid SR-22 in place (if required)

The length of time you must have the SR-22 varies depending on the type of offense and the number of offenses you have.

How does insurance impact a vehicle registration?

You must have valid auto insurance to register your car in South Carolina. The SCDMV will verify your coverage electronically when you give them the name of your insurer, so you don’t need to show proof of insurance. The SCDMV is notified when a policy is canceled or suspended. You’ll be notified if your policy is no longer valid. Insurance policies can be canceled:

  • At any time if you haven’t paid your premium
  • For any reason 61 to 90 days into a new policy

If you receive a notice that your insurance has been canceled, you must update the SCDMV with your valid, current insurance information within 20 business days to avoid suspension of your driving privileges. If you don’t have valid auto insurance, your driver's license and vehicle registration will be suspended and you may have to pay reinstatement fees:

  • $200 to have your driver's license and vehicle registration reinstated
  • An additional $5 per day that you were not insured (up to $400)

What is the average cost of car insurance in South Carolina?

The average South Carolinian pays $1,286 2 per year for their auto policy, but many people pay much more—often to make up for their bad-driving counterparts. Root doesn’t insure high-risk drivers, so Root customers save up to $100/month on average.

What our customers tell us

Root car insurance app for iPhone and Android

Choosing your car insurance coverage just got easier.

Our app makes it quick and easy to get the coverage you need. Try it and see how much you can save.

Get the Root app