Mississippi
Mississippi

Find out how much you can save on Mississippi car insurance.

Download the app. Take a test drive around the Magnolia State. Get a free quote.

Why choose Root for your Mississippi insurance policy?

Mississippi, you no longer have to sing the blues of unfair, outrageously priced insurance rates—Root has arrived! Now, good drivers of good ‘ol Mississippi can save up to 52% on fair, affordable car insurance. (Those old rates can sing the blues now.)

What makes Root different from traditional insurers in Mississippi?

We base rates primarily on how you actually drive, not just on some statistical profile of your age, credit score, marital status, and ZIP code.

Here’s how it works:

  1. Download the free Root app and breeze through a simple signup.
  2. Drive normally for 2-3 weeks. During that test drive, your smartphone gathers driving data and sends it to us to crunch the numbers (it knows if you’re a driver or passenger—don’t worry). We run that data through our machine learning algorithm to determine your customized rate.
  3. Get your free quote and customize your policy, all within the app. And because we don’t insure high-risk drivers, good drivers save up to 52%.

Root is disrupting the broken insurance industry by bringing fairness and ease to customers across the Magnolia State.

The worst 30% of drivers
cause nearly 45% of all accident costs1
Bad drivers cause nearly 45% of all accident costs

It’s a good time to be a good driver in Mississippi.

Since Mississippi is an electronic proof of insurance state, you’ll always have legal, hassle-free proof of coverage on hand through the Root app on your phone. Root’s competitive quotes and simple app prove that car insurance can be easy and affordable for the state’s best drivers—from Southaven to Biloxi, Jackson to Gulfport, and all points between (we’re looking at you, Hattiesburg).

What are the minimum car insurance requirements in Mississippi?

To legally operate a vehicle in Mississippi, you must carry liability insurance and uninsured/underinsured motorist protection. If you’re found driving without it, you can face fines up to $1,000 and a one-year suspension of your driver’s licenses.

Liability coverage helps to pay for property damage or bodily injuries that occur from a car accident you cause. It does not cover harm to you or your passengers (that’s what Medical Payments or Personal Injury Protection coverages are for) or your vehicle (but Collision and Comprehensive coverages do). These additional coverages can help you avoid serious expenses in the event of a major accident.

Minimum required liability coverage in MS:

  • $25,000 Bodily Injury (per person)
  • $50,000 Bodily Injury (per accident – multiple people injured)
  • $25,000 Property Damage

You can always opt for higher limits if you want more coverage.

If you choose not to buy liability insurance, you must post a bond for the minimum coverage amounts and make a security deposit equal to the minimum coverage amounts.

Uninsured and Underinsured Motorist Coverage (UM/UIM)

Uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage will help pay for your expenses when you've been in a car accident with a driver who doesn’t have car insurance or whose car insurance amounts won't adequately cover your costs. Insurance companies in Mississippi are required to offer this coverage as part of your policy. However, you can reject this coverage in writing and still be in compliance with car insurance laws.

Minimum required uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage:

  • $25,000 Bodily Injury (per person)
  • $50,000 Bodily Injury (per accident – multiple people injured)

Again, you can always opt for more coverage.

When do you need to show proof of insurance?

You must show proof of insurance if you’re stopped by a police officer or involved in a car accident. Acceptable forms include an electronic version of your ID card, like the one found in the Root app, or an insurance ID card issued by your insurance carrier (Root gives you this, too).

What are the fines and penalties if you’re caught without insurance?

If you are caught driving without the minimum amount of liability coverage, you will face:

  • $1,000 fine
  • One-year suspension of your driver’s license

If you’re insured with Root, you can avoid that trouble. As long as you have your phone, you have legal proof through the Root app.

SR-22

The SR-22 form, known as proof of financial responsibility, is not insurance but a certification filed by your auto insurance company stating you’ll maintain the minimum liability insurance for a predetermined amount of time. (Root does this for free.)

You may be legally required to file an SR-22 form in Mississippi from your insurance provider to:

  • Prevent suspension or revocation of your driver's license.
  • Reinstate a suspended or revoked driver's license.

What other coverages does Root offer?

  • Collision
  • Comprehensive (including glass coverage)
  • Medical Payments
  • Personal Injury Protection
  • Uninsured Motorist Property Damage (UMPD)
  • Rental
  • Roadside Assistance (included in every Root policy)

Learn all about Root’s coverage options here:

Our Coverages

What is the average cost of car insurance in Mississippi?

The average driver in Mississippi pays $1,326 2 per year for their auto policy, but many people pay much more—often to make up for their bad-driving counterparts. Root doesn’t insure high-risk drivers, so Root customers save up to $1,112/year on average—all while enjoying fair and simple car insurance.

What our customers tell us

Root app for iPhone and Android

Choosing your car insurance coverage just got easier.

Our app makes it quick and easy to get the coverage you need. Try it and see how much you can save.

Get the Root app