Delaware
Delaware

Find out how much you can save on Delaware car insurance.

Download the app. Take a test drive around the First State. Get a free quote.

Why choose Root for your Delaware insurance policy?

Fair and affordable car insurance has finally come to the First State. Whether you’re driving along the Brandywine Valley Byway, cruising down the main drag in Bethany Beach, or navigating rush hour traffic in Wilmington, we’ve got you covered. With Root, safe drivers save up to 52% on car insurance. We think you’re going to love it.

What makes Root different from traditional insurers in Delaware?

We base rates primarily on how you actually drive, not just on some statistical profile of your age, credit score, marital status, and ZIP code.

Here’s how it works:

  1. Download the free Root app and breeze through a simple signup.
  2. Drive normally for 2-3 weeks. During that test drive, your smartphone gathers driving data and sends it to us to crunch the numbers (it knows if you’re a driver or passenger—don’t worry). We run that data through our machine learning algorithm to determine your customized rate.
  3. Get your free quote and customize your policy, all within the app. And because we don’t insure high-risk drivers, good drivers save up to 52%.

Root is disrupting the broken insurance industry by bringing fairness and ease to customers across the First State.

It’s a good time to be a good driver in Delaware.

Since Delaware is an electronic proof of insurance state, you’ll always have legal, hassle-free proof of coverage on hand through the Root app on your phone. Root’s competitive quotes and simple app prove that car insurance can be easy and affordable for the state’s best drivers—from Wilmington to Dover, Newark to Rehoboth Beach, and all points between (we’re looking at you, Brookside).

The worst 30% of drivers
cause nearly 45% of all accident costs1
Bad drivers cause nearly 45% of all accident costs

What are the minimum car insurance requirements in Delaware?

To legally operate a vehicle in Delaware, you must carry liability insurance, personal injury protection (PIP), and uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage (which can be declined in writing). If you’re found driving without the required insurance, you can face fines of up to $3,000 and suspension of your driver’s license.

Liability coverage helps to pay for property damage or bodily injuries that occur from a car accident you cause. It does not cover harm to you or your family members (that’s what Medical Payments or Personal Injury Protection coverages are for) or your vehicle (but Collision and Comprehensive coverages do). These additional coverages can help you avoid serious expenses in the event of a major accident.

Minimum required liability coverage in DE:

  • $25,000 Bodily Injury (per person)
  • $50,000 Bodily Injury (per accident – multiple people injured)
  • $10,000 Property Damage

You can always opt for higher limits if you want more coverage.

Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

Delaware law also requires you to have personal injury protection (PIP), commonly known as “no-fault car insurance." PIP will help pay for your medical costs regardless who caused the accident.

Minimum required personal injury protection coverage:

  • $15,000 for bodily injury (per person)
  • $30,000 for bodily injury (per accident – multiple people injured)

You can always opt for more coverage if you want.

Uninsured and Underinsured Motorist Coverage (UM/UIM)

Uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage will help pay for your expenses when you've been in a car accident with a driver who doesn’t have car insurance, or whose car insurance amounts won't adequately cover your costs. Insurance companies in Delaware are required to offer this coverage as part of your policy. However you can reject this coverage in writing and still be in compliance with car insurance laws.

Minimum required uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage:

  • $25,000 Bodily Injury (per person)
  • $50,000 Bodily Injury (per accident – multiple people injured)

Again, you can always opt for higher limits if you want.

When do you need to show proof of insurance?

You must show proof of insurance if you’re stopped by a police officer or involved in a car accident, or when you register your car for the first time or renew a registration. Acceptable forms include:

  • An insurance ID card issued by your insurance carrier
  • Electronic version of your ID card, like the one found in the Root app on your phone

Failure to present proof of insurance to a police officer at a traffic stop or after an accident may result in a citation. If you’re insured with Root, you can avoid that trouble. As long as you’ve got your phone, you have legal proof through the Root app.

What other coverages does Root offer?

  • Collision
  • Comprehensive (including glass coverage)
  • Medical Payments
  • Rental
  • Roadside Assistance (included in every Root policy)
  • Uninsured Motorist Property Damage (UMPD)

Learn all about Root’s coverage options here:

Our Coverages

What are the fines and penalties if you’re caught without insurance?

If you’re found driving without insurance, you’ll face:

  • Fines of $1,500-$2,000
  • Fines of $3,000-$4,000 for each subsequent offense occurring within three years
  • Suspension of your driver's license for six months

What is the average cost of car insurance in Delaware?

The average driver in Delaware pays $1,5262 per year for their auto policy, but many people pay much more—often to make up for their bad-driving counterparts. Root doesn’t insure high-risk drivers, so Root customers save up to $1,112/year on average—all while enjoying fair and simple car insurance.

What our customers tell us

Root car insurance app for iPhone and Android

Choosing your car insurance coverage just got easier.

Our app makes it quick and easy to get the coverage you need. Try it and see how much you can save.

Get the Root app