Get a quote

Better rates for better drivers in Virginia

See how much you could save.
Get a quote
Orange sedan drives into smartphone screen showing a cityscape

Fair and affordable car insurance in Virginia

From Richmond to Roanoke and Alexandria to Virginia Beach, Root makes it easy for the best drivers in VA to get high quality and affordable auto coverage. Good drivers could save hundreds. Download our easy-to-use app to get your free quote.

How it works

Root is different from traditional auto insurance companies. Instead of basing your rate on demographics like age, credit score, and ZIP code, Root bases your rate primarily on how you drive.

root icon

Download the app

Visit the App Store or Google Play. Sign up in less than a minute.

Icon-BlackBG-WhiteCar

Drive around

We use your smartphone to measure your driving behavior. Better driving = more savings.

Icon-BlackBG-WhiteCardPerson

Get your quote

You can customize and purchase your policy, all in the Root app.

State requirements in Virginia

What are the minimum auto insurance requirements in Virginia?

Virginia requires that all drivers carry a minimum of Liability insurance and Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage. Driving without insurance could result in suspension of your driver’s license, vehicle registration, license plates, and hefty reinstatement fees. 

Virginia accepts electronic proof of insurance. If you have the Root app on your phone, your coverage is legally documented in a convenient way.

Liability coverage

Liability is the insurance coverage for when you cause a car accident—it helps to pay for property damage or bodily injuries that occur. It’s important to keep in mind that it does not cover harm to you or your passengers (that’s what Medical Payments or Personal Injury Protection coverages are for). It also does not cover your vehicle ( that's what Collision and Comprehensive coverages are for). Choosing to get additional coverages beyond Liability can help you avoid major expenses if you’re in an accident. 

Minimum required Liability coverage in VA: 

  • $25,000 Bodily Injury (per person)

  • $50,000 Bodily Injury (per accident – multiple people injured)

  • $20,000 Property Damage

You must carry the Virginia state minimum coverage levels of Liability. If you’re found to be driving without it and you have not paid the uninsured motor vehicle fee, you could face suspension of your driver’s license, vehicle registration, and license plates. 

Reinstatement requires:

  • $500 fine

  • Filing of an SR-22 (required for 3 years)

  • Fee of $145-$220 for a reinstated driver’s license.

Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage (UM/UIM):

This insurance is for any injuries you suffer or damages you incur if you’re in an accident caused by a driver who doesn’t have car insurance or whose car insurance is insufficient.

Minimum required Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist coverage:

  • $25,000 Bodily Injury (per person)

  • $50,000 Bodily Injury (per accident – multiple people injured)

  • $20,000 Property Damage

If you cannot prove that you have car insurance when you register your car, you can pay a $500 uninsured motor vehicle fee to the Virginia DMV, which allows you to drive uninsured for 12 months. However, this option is not insurance and does not protect you financially if you’re in an accident—you must pay for all costs related to damages and injuries for which you’re at fault.

What is SR-22 insurance?

An SR-22 certification is not actually insurance but rather proof submitted by your insurance company that you are compliant with Virginia’s Liability minimum requirements. 

You may be required to file an SR-22 if you’ve been convicted of voluntary or involuntary manslaughter resulting from a car accident, got a felony conviction involving a traffic law, were in a hit-and-run accident, or if you falsified your driver’s license, car registration, or insurance information. If you were caught driving without insurance or without having paid the uninsured motor vehicle fee, you may also have to file this certification.

What is an FR-44 certification?

You may need to file an FR-44 certification if you’ve received a DUI conviction or another serious conviction like maiming under the influence. With this filing, you’re required to increase your Liability insurance limits to: 

  • $50,000 Bodily Injury (per person, per accident)

  • $100,000 Bodily Injury (per accident – multiple people injured)

  • $40,000 Property Damage

What other coverages does Root offer in Virginia?

Icon-WhiteBG-collision-coverage

Collision

Icon-WhiteBG-rental-outline

Rental Car coverage

Icon-WhiteBG-protection-medical

Personal Injury Protection

Icon-WhiteBG-medical-bills

Medical Payments

(MedPay)

Icon-WhiteBG-comprehensive-coverage

Comprehensive

(including glass coverage)

Icon-WhiteBG-tow-truck

Roadside Assistance

(included with every Root policy)

What is the average car insurance cost in Virginia?

The average cost of car insurance in Virginia is $1,270 [1] per year, but many people pay much more. With Root, good drivers could save $900 a year. It’s easy. Just download the app to get started.

root icon

Start saving

Get an auto insurance quote based primarily on how you drive. You could save hundreds.

Get a quote

References 

  1. Insure.com. Annual average rates were compiled in April 2020

Additional Resources 

Car insurance FAQCar insurance coverageRenters insuranceHomeowners insuranceClaimsTest driveReferralsAffiliatesContact

Root Insurance Company

80 E. Rich Street

Suite 500

Columbus, OH 43215

Copyright ROOT 2020. ROOT is a registered servicemark of Root Insurance Company, Columbus, OH. Disclaimer for quotes: We reserve the right to refuse to quote any individual a premium rate for the insurance advertised herein. Disclaimer for coverage: Coverage is available in the event of a covered loss. Exclusions may apply. Not available in all states. Disclaimer for savings: Based on savings reported by actual customers who purchased a new Root policy between September 2018 - August 2019; changes in coverage levels not evaluated. For California residents: Telematics is not used and resulting represented savings are not applicable. Referral program not applicable. Roadside Assistance purchased as separate coverage. Visit joinroot.com/califaq for more information.