Whether you’re in Las Vegas or Henderson, Reno or Carson City, Root’s quotes prove to be competitive. The Root app makes auto insurance easy and cheap for safe drivers of the Silver State. Take the test drive to find out how much you could save.
At Root, we care about how you actually drive. So that’s how we primarily base rates. Traditional auto insurance companies base your rate on things like age, credit score, marital status, and ZIP code. We think that’s unfair, so we created Root to change the industry.
Sign up in less than a minute.
We use your smartphone to measure your driving behavior. Better driving = more savings.
You can customize and purchase your policy, all in the Root app.
Legally operating a vehicle in Nevada means you must carry Liability insurance. If you’re found driving without it, you could face fines and penalties.
You also must show proof of insurance if you’re involved in a car accident or stopped by a police officer. And the first time you register your car or renew a registration, you need to show proof, too. Nevada now accepts electronic proof of insurance, so Root policyholders always have proof of insurance in the Root app.
You are required by Nevada law to carry Liability coverage in Nevada. If you’re caught without it, you could face fines up to $1,000, reinstatement fees varying from $251 to $751, and a suspended driver’s license for a minimum of 30 days if it’s the third violation for driving without car insurance (regardless of the length of the lapse). If your lapse in required insurance is 91 days or longer, you’re required to file and keep SR-22 insurance for 3 years, too. And if you cause an accident resulting in more than $750 in damage while uninsured, you can have your driver's license and vehicle registration automatically suspended or revoked.
Liability coverage helps to pay for property damage or bodily injuries that occur from a car accident you cause. It does not cover harm to you or your family members—coverages like Medical Payments serve that purpose. And if you want coverage for your vehicle, Collision and Comprehensive is available. These additional coverages beyond Liability are what can help you save a lot of money if you’re in a serious accident.
$25,000 Bodily Injury (per person)
$50,000 Bodily Injury (per accident – multiple people injured)
$20,000 Property Damage
SR-22 insurance is required for Nevada car insurance violations of 91 days or more and may be required for other violations such as drunk driving (DUI). The SR-22 is actually not insurance–it’s proof of responsibility and a guarantee that you’ll be insured for a certain period of time. In Nevada, the SR-22 is required for 3 years following an insurance violation. Your insurance company must file it with the Nevada DMV upon your request.
Comprehensive (including glass coverage)
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury (UM/UIM)
Uninsured Motorist Property Damage (UMPD)
Rental Car coverage
Roadside Assistance (included in every policy)
How much does car insurance typically cost in Nevada?
The average Nevadan pays $1,5251 per year for their auto policy, but many people pay much more. Root’s good drivers save up to $1,112/year on average. That’s what fair and simple car insurance looks like.
for Root policyholders