Hey Louisiana, did you know that your state has the second-highest car insurance rates in the nation? The good news is that Root’s here to help. We make car insurance fair, simple, and affordable, and if you drive safely, you’ll pay up to 52% less to insure your car. How’s that for a big easy?
We base rates primarily on how you actually drive, not just on some statistical profile of your age, credit score, marital status, and ZIP code.
Here’s how it works:
Root is disrupting the broken insurance industry by bringing fairness and ease to customers across the Pelican State.
Because Louisiana is an electronic proof of insurance state, you’ll always have legal, hassle-free proof of coverage on hand through the Root app on your phone. Root’s competitive quotes and simple app prove that car insurance can be easy and affordable for the state’s best drivers—from Baton Rouge to Shreveport, New Orleans to Lake Charles, and all points between (we’re looking at you, Lafayette).
To legally operate a vehicle in Louisiana, you must carry liability insurance and uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. If you’re found driving without it, you can face fines of up to $1,000 plus reinstatement fees.
Liability coverage helps to pay for property damage or bodily injuries that occur from a car accident you cause. It does not cover harm to you or your family members (that’s what Medical Payments or Personal Injury Protection coverages are for) or your vehicle (but Collision and Comprehensive coverages do). These additional coverages can help you avoid serious expenses in the event of a major accident.
You can always opt for higher limits if you want more coverage.
Uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage (UM/UIM) will help pay for your expenses when you've been in a car accident with a driver who doesn’t have car insurance, or whose car insurance amounts won't adequately cover your costs. Insurance companies in Louisiana are required to offer this coverage as part of your policy. However, you can reject this coverage in writing and still be in compliance with car insurance laws.
Again, you can always opt for higher limits if you want.
You must show proof of insurance if you’re stopped by a police officer or involved in a car accident, or when you register your car for the first time or renew a registration. Acceptable forms include:
If you’re caught driving without proof of insurance, a police officer can either:
If you’re insured with Root, you can avoid that trouble. As long as you’ve got your phone, you have legal proof through the Root app.
Learn all about Root’s coverage options here:Our Coverages
If you’re caught driving without car insurance, you face the following penalties:
After an insurance violation, you may also be required to get an SR-22 certification (also known as SR-22 insurance, or proof of future financial responsibility) from your auto insurance provider. The SR-22 certification is a form provided by your car insurance company to the Louisiana OMV that guarantees coverage for a period of time as determined by the OMV. (Root does this for free.)
If you allow your SR-22 to lapse, you’ll have to pay a fee to the OMV. The SR-22 certification may also be required to have your driver's license reinstated if it's been suspended.
The average driver in Louisiana pays $1,921 2 per year for their auto policy, but many people pay much more—often to make up for their bad-driving counterparts. Root doesn’t insure high-risk drivers, so Root customers save up to $1,112/year on average—all while enjoying fair and simple car insurance.