Fair car insurance in Florida
From Tallahassee to Jacksonville, Orlando to Tampa, and all the way to Miami—Floridians can get fair and affordable car insurance with Root. Simply download the app, complete the test drive, and then see what you’ll save on your Florida car insurance quote. If you’re a good driver, you could save hundreds on auto insurance in FL.
State requirements in Florida
What are the minimum requirements in Florida?
To legally operate a vehicle in Florida, you must carry Personal Injury Protection (no-fault insurance) and property damage coverage. If you are found driving without these coverages, you may face fines and suspension of your vehicle registration.
Property Damage covers damage to other vehicles or property when you cause an accident. It does not cover your vehicle (but Collision and Comprehensive coverages do).
Minimum Property Damage coverage Florida drivers must carry:
$10,000 for property damage (per accident)
You can select higher limits if you’d like more coverage.
Personal Injury Protection (PIP)
No-fault car insurance—also called Personal Injury Protection (PIP)—covers your household family members and your medical costs after an accident, regardless of who is at fault for the accident. Claims against the at-fault driver can be filed after the PIP benefits are exhausted.
Minimum PIP coverage Florida drivers must carry:
$10,000 limit per insured
What is the average cost of Florida car insurance?
The average Floridian pays $2,082¹ per year for their auto insurance, but many people are paying much more. Root doesn’t insure high-risk drivers, so our customers are saving up to $900 a year on their car insurance.
Insure.com. Annual average rates were compiled in August 2021