Connecticut drivers, did you know that your state has the third most expensive car insurance rates, on average, in the nation? Yikes—welcome to Root, where we make car insurance fair, simple, and affordable. Good drivers save up to $100/month on car insurance, and we think you deserve some relief.
We base rates primarily on how you actually drive, not on some statistical profile of your age, credit score, marital status, and ZIP code.
Here’s how it works:
Root is disrupting the broken insurance system by bringing fairness and ease to customers across the Constitution State.
Root’s competitive quotes and simple app make car insurance easy and affordable for the best drivers in Connecticut—from Hartford to New Haven, Waterbury to Stamford, and all points between (we’re looking at you, Bridgeport).
To legally operate a vehicle in Connecticut, you must have liability insurance. If you’re found driving without it, you could face fines up to $200, a suspended license, and loss of privileges to renew or register any car.
Liability coverage helps to pay for property damage or bodily injuries that occur from a car accident you cause. It does not cover harm to you or your family members (that’s what Medical Payments or Personal Injury Protection coverages are for) or your vehicle (but Collision and Comprehensive coverages do). These additional coverages can help you avoid serious expenses in the event of a major accident.
Connecticut also requires you to carry uninsured/underinsured motorist (UM/UIM) coverage. This coverage helps to pay for your medical bills after an accident caused by either an uninsured driver or a driver who doesn’t have adequate insurance to pay your medical bills.
Learn all about Root’s coverage options here:Our Coverages
You’re required to carry both your car registration certificate and car insurance ID card in your car at all times in Connecticut. (Connecticut is not an electronic proof of insurance state.) If you’re stopped for a traffic violation, you’ll be asked to show both documents to the officer. If you can’t, you’ll face a $50 fine.
When registering your car in Connecticut, you’ll need to complete an Application for Registration and Certificate of Title (Form H-13B). This form includes an insurance section where you must provide your insurance company's name and policy number. When you sign the form, you acknowledge that you'll maintain the minimum Connecticut car insurance requirements while your car is registered.
Insurance carriers are required to report cancellations of insurance to the Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles (CDMV). When notified of your insurance cancellation, the CDMV will send you a warning notice that will offer you the chance to buy car insurance and pay a $200 fine to avoid any further penalties.
If you don’t respond to your first warning notice, you’ll be sent a suspension warning, which may require you to take part in a hearing. A hearing may lead to:
When it comes to car insurance premiums, Connecticut is the third most expensive state in the nation and the average driver in Connecticut pays about $1,897 2 annually. But many people pay much more than that, due to their bad driving counterparts. Root customers save up to $1,112 a year, on average.