Fair and affordable car insurance has finally come to Arkansas. Whether you’re driving along Crowley’s Ridge Parkway, cruising down the main drag in Russellville, or navigating rush hour traffic at the junction of I-30 and I-630 in Little Rock, Root’s got you covered. With Root, if you drive safely, you’ll pay up to 52% less to insure your car. We think you’re going to love it.
We base rates primarily on how you actually drive, not just on some statistical profile of your age, credit score, marital status, and ZIP code.
Here’s how it works:
Root is disrupting the broken insurance industry by bringing fairness and ease to customers across the Natural State.
Because Arkansas is an electronic proof of insurance state, you’ll always have legal, hassle-free proof of coverage on hand through the Root app on your phone. Root’s competitive quotes and simple app prove that car insurance can be easy and affordable for the state’s best drivers—from Little Rock to Fort Smith, Fayetteville to Jonesboro, and all points between (we’re looking at you, Springdale).
To legally operate a vehicle in Arkansas, you must carry liability insurance, uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage, and personal injury protection. If you’re found driving without it, you can face fines and suspension of your vehicle registration.
Liability coverage helps to pay for property damage or bodily injuries that occur from a car accident you cause. It does not cover harm to you or your passengers (that’s what Medical Payments or Personal Injury Protection coverages are for) or your vehicle (but Collision and Comprehensive coverages do). These additional coverages can help you avoid serious expenses in the event of a major accident.
You can always opt for higher limits if you want more coverage.
This insurance pays for the damages, losses, and injuries you suffer if you’re in an accident caused by a driver who doesn’t have car insurance. It also covers you if you’re in an accident with a driver whose car insurance is insufficient, or underinsured.
You can always request more coverage if you want.
Arkansas also requires drivers to have Personal Injury Protection (PIP), also called no-fault car insurance. PIP coverage will help pay for your medical bills after a car accident, regardless of who is at fault for the accident.
You can always opt for more coverage.
You must show proof of insurance if you’re stopped by a police officer or involved in a car accident, or when you register your car for the first time or renew a registration. Acceptable forms include:
Failure to present proof of insurance to a police officer at a traffic stop may result in a citation and a $25 fine. If you’re insured with Root, you can avoid that trouble. As long as you’ve got your phone, you have legal proof through the Root app.
Learn all about Root’s coverage options here:Our Coverages
If you are caught driving with no car insurance, you'll face fines ranging from $50-$1,000 and up to one year in jail.
To have your registration reinstated after a car insurance violation, you must:
An Arkansas Motor Vehicle Accident Report (Form SR-1) must be filed if you’re involved in a car accident resulting in:
Additionally, you must provide proof of financial responsibility. An SR-21 proof of liability is attached to the Arkansas Motor Vehicle Accident Report (Form SR-1), and must be completed by your car insurance company proving that you did have the minimum required car insurance when the accident occurred. (Root does this for free.)
The average driver in Arkansas pays $1,4092 per year for their auto policy, but many people pay much more—often to make up for their bad-driving counterparts. Root doesn’t insure high-risk drivers, so Root customers save up to $1,112/year on average—all while enjoying fair and simple car insurance.