From Nashville to Memphis and Jackson to Knoxville, Root makes insurance easy and fair for the best drivers of the Volunteer State—all with our competitive quotes and simple app. Your auto insurance rate could drop 52%. Download the app and find out if your good driving can save you money, too.
Your auto insurance rate is traditionally based on your demographics—things like age, credit score, marital status, and ZIP code. Root prices insurance more fairly since. Your rate is based primarily on your actual driving behavior, and not things like your age or credit score.
Sign up in less than a minute.
We use your smartphone to measure your driving behavior. Better driving = more savings.
You can customize and purchase your policy, all in the Root app.
It’s required in Tennessee to carry Liability insurance if you’re going to operate a vehicle. You could face fines and penalties if you’re found driving without it.
You’re also required to show proof of insurance if you’re stopped by a police officer or part of a car accident that results in any injuries, death, or over $1,500 in property damages. Since Tennessee now accepts electronic proof of insurance, you’ll always have your insurance card in the Root app. It’s a legal proof of coverage that’s conveniently in your phone.
Tennessee law requires that you carry the state minimum amounts of Liability coverage. If you’re caught without it, you could confront a Class C misdemeanor. That comes with fines up to $300, the potential for your vehicle to be towed, a suspension of your driver’s license, and a STOP on you car, which prevents registration renewal.
Liability coverage helps to pay for property damage or bodily injuries that occur from a car accident you cause. It does not cover harm to you or your family members (that’s what MedPay coverages are for). It also doesn’t cover your vehicle (but Collision and Comprehensive coverages do). These additional coverages can help you avoid major expenses in the event of a large accident.
$25,000 Bodily Injury (per person)
$50,000 Bodily Injury (per accident – multiple people injured)
$15,000 Property Damage
SR-22 insurance is required to be filed after any conviction that leads to suspension of your driver’s license. The SR-22 is actually not insurance–it’s proof of responsibility and a guarantee that you’ll be insured for a certain period of time. In Tennessee, the SR-22 can be filed for a total of 5 years, but can be canceled after 3 years if you’ve had no other suspensions that required an SR-22. Your insurance company must file the SR-22 with the Tennessee Department of Safety.
Comprehensive (including glass coverage)
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury (UM/UIM)
Uninsured Motorist Property Damage (UMPD)
Rental Car coverage
Roadside Assistance (included in every Root policy)
What is the average cost of car insurance in Tennessee?
The average Tennessean pays $1,2971 per year for their auto policy, but many people pay much more. Bad drivers often drive up prices for good drivers. Root doesn’t insure high-risk drivers, so Root customers save up to 52% on average—all while enjoying fair and simple car insurance.
for Root policyholders