Oregon
Oregon

Find out how much you can save on Oregon car insurance.

Download the app. Take a test drive around the Beaver State. Get a free quote.

Why choose Root for your Oregon insurance policy?

Oregon, you really know a thing or two about highways, since you're the home base for the original horse and wagon highway. Well, finally Root has reached Oregon, too, and we’ve brought fair and affordable insurance with us. Good drivers save up to 52%. (Horse and wagons not insurable at this time.)

What makes Root different from traditional insurers in Oregon?

We base rates primarily on how you actually drive, not just on some statistical profile of your age, credit score, marital status, and ZIP code.

Here’s how it works:

  1. Download the free Root app and breeze through a simple signup.
  2. Drive normally for 2-3 weeks. During that test drive, your smartphone gathers driving data and sends it to us to crunch the numbers (it knows if you’re a driver or passenger—don’t worry). We run that data through our machine learning algorithm to determine your customized rate.
  3. Get your free quote and customize your policy, all within the app. And because we don’t insure high-risk drivers, good drivers save up to 52%.

Root is disrupting the broken insurance industry by bringing fairness and ease to customers across the Beaver State.

It’s a good time to be a good driver in Oregon.

Since Oregon is an electronic proof of insurance state, you’ll always have legal, hassle-free proof of coverage on hand through the Root app on your phone. Root’s competitive quotes and simple app prove that car insurance can be easy and affordable for the state’s best drivers—from Beaverton to Bend, Portland to Eugene, and all points between (we’re looking at you, Salem).

The worst 30% of drivers
cause nearly 45% of all accident costs1
Bad drivers cause nearly 45% of all accident costs

What are the minimum car insurance requirements in Oregon?

To legally operate a vehicle in Oregon, you must carry liability, personal injury protection, and uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage (UM/UIM). If you’re found driving without the required insurance, you can face fines, suspension of your driver’s license, and possible towing of your vehicle.

Liability coverage helps to pay for property damage or bodily injuries that occur from a car accident you cause. It does not cover harm to you or your passengers (that’s what Medical Payments and Personal Injury Protection coverages are for) or your vehicle (but Collision and Comprehensive coverages do). These additional coverages can help you avoid serious expenses in the event of a major accident.

Minimum required liability coverage in OR:

  • $25,000 Bodily Injury (per person)
  • $50,000 Bodily Injury (per accident – multiple people injured)
  • $20,000 Property Damage

You can always opt for higher limits if you want more coverage.

Personal Injury Protection (PIP) is also required for Oregon drivers. PIP coverage will help pay for your medical bills for up to two years after a car accident, regardless of who is at fault.

Minimum required personal injury protection coverage:

  • $15,000

You can also opt for higher limits on this coverage, if you want.

Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage (UM/UIM) is another required coverage. This insurance pays for the damages, losses, and injuries you suffer if you’re in an accident caused by a driver who doesn’t have car insurance. It also covers you if you’re in an accident with a driver whose car insurance is insufficient, or considered underinsured.

Minimum required uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage:

  • $25,000 Bodily Injury (per person)
  • $50,000 Bodily Injury (per accident – multiple people injured)

Again, you can always opt for higher limits if you want more coverage.

When do you need to show proof of insurance?

You must show proof of insurance if you’re stopped by a police officer or involved in a car accident, or when you register your vehicle or renew your registration. Acceptable forms include:

  • An insurance ID card issued by your insurance carrier
  • Electronic version of your ID card, like the one found in the Root app on your phone

What are the fines and penalties if you’re caught without insurance?

If you’re found driving without insurance, you’ll face the following:

  • Fines
  • Suspension of your license and vehicle registration
  • Your vehicle can be towed and you’ll be responsible for any accompanying fees

If you’re involved in an accident while uninsured, you’ll face suspension of your license for one year. Once you’ve reinstated your license, you’ll be required to file an SR-22 for three years. If you’re insured with Root, you can avoid that trouble. As long as you’ve got your phone, you have legal proof through the Root app.

DMV Insurance Verification

The Oregon DMV will verify the insurance status of drivers in the state every month by requesting a random selection of drivers to provide:

  • The name of their insurance company
  • Their policy number

The DMV verifies this information with the insurance company identified by the driver. If the DMV selects you to provide this information and you don't respond, your license will be suspended. If you’re caught responding with false information, you'll be required to hold an SR-22 for three years.

SR-22

If you've been driving without insurance and you're found guilty of doing so by a judge, you can be ordered to file an SR-22 with the DMV for three years. (Root does this for free.) An SR-22 acts as proof of financial responsibility, or a guarantee, that you'll hold at least the minimum required car insurance for a full three years. If you don’t file an SR-22 when ordered, your license will be suspended.

What other coverages does Root offer?

  • Collision
  • Comprehensive (including glass coverage)
  • Medical Payments
  • Rental
  • Roadside Assistance (included in every Root policy)

Learn all about Root’s coverage options here:

Our Coverages

What is the average cost of car insurance in Oregon?

Car insurance rates in Oregon have increased 14.4% from 2011-2015 and will likely continue to rise. Currently the average driver in Oregon pays $1,3082 per year for their auto policy, but many people pay much more—often to make up for their bad-driving counterparts. Because Root doesn’t insure high-risk drivers, Root customers save up to $100/month on average—all while enjoying fair and simple car insurance.

What our customers tell us

Root app for iPhone and Android

Choosing your car insurance coverage just got easier.

Our app makes it quick and easy to get the coverage you need. Try it and see how much you can save.

Get the Root app